SPICING UP MY LIFE with a *pinch* of frugal-ness, a *drop* of creativity and a *spoonful* of patience!

22 Apr

20130415-070735.jpg

Recently I have started hoarding spices! As my repertoire has grown over the last year and I have been writing this blog, I have started to acquire a large range of spices. I started to find that buying them in little glass pots (the ones you get in the supermarket) was actually costing me a lot of money and I felt that I was paying more for the glass than I was for the spices. I had a shop around and found a little supermarket in Shoreditch, London where I could get any spice I wanted in a bag for about 89p and I got a lot more spice for my money. There are lots and lots of places that do these bags of spices, so you will definitely be able to get hold of them.

The only issue I had then was that the spice bags were falling over and if this happened after I had snipped the corner off then they would fall over and spill all over my cupboard… cue removing all cupboard items and cleaning. This did not make me happy. I therefore started collecting jars from my friends, house-mates and at work colleagues and within a few weeks I had enough to house my spices. The next issue was that I now could not tell the cinnamon from the five spice from the cumin; without getting all 3 out and having a good sniff. ISSUE. I kept worrying my carrot cakes would be flavoured with cumin and that my curries would be all about cinnamon. So, I decided to get a little bit creative and make tags for my spice jars. Here is what you need:

  • Jars – any size and shape
  • Spices in bags
  • Ribbon
  • Coloured Paper
  • Black pens
  • Hole punch
  • Scissors
  • Time & patience

Now you have everything ready, you can get started and get crafty. So, cut out little tag shapes, rectangular at one end, the other end finishing with a point. Then punch a hole in the end where the point is and write the name of your spice neatly on the tag. Now thread some fine ribbon through the hole and tie around the top of your jar. DONE!

It really is that simple. I think they look great, so I placed them around my garden and photographed them as they just looked so rustic and pretty. Now whenever I go to my cupboard I smile as I made those, but also as I know what spice I am getting!

HAPPY CRAFTY TIME PEOPLE!

20130415-070822.jpg 20130415-070805.jpg 20130415-070840.jpg20130415-070750.jpg

 

5 Responses to “SPICING UP MY LIFE with a *pinch* of frugal-ness, a *drop* of creativity and a *spoonful* of patience!”

  1. wooden spice rack April 24, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to looking into your web page repeatedly.

    • gemsfoodgems April 24, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Thank you very much! This is very kind. I hope you enjoy my work and my recipes!

      Gemma

  2. Nicole May 1, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Hello there, I found your web site via Google while looking for a comparable topic, your web site got here up,
    it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just changed into alert to your weblog via Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate
    should you continue this in future. Many folks can be benefited from
    your writing. Cheers!

  3. Christina May 21, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a really good article… but what
    can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  4. online bakery August 2, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    These are actually great ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

Leave a Reply

