WASTE not, WANT not… Lets make magic with our HOT CROSS BUNS!

3 Apr

20130402-211433.jpgMy mummy always taught me ‘waste not, want not’.  So, I didn’t and generally I don’t.  I make sure I eat everything that is on my dinner plate and if I have leftovers they make fabulous little lunches for the week.

I got home from work this evening, hoping to freeze my hot cross buns and was a little disappointed to find some of them were really quite stale (and I was running out of freezer room), so I had a new idea.  I decided to make them into dessert.  A bread and butter pudding style dessert.  Here we go!

PREPARATION TIME:  10 minutes

COOKING TIME:  30 minutes

MAKES: 2 portions

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 stale hot cross buns
  • 4 tsp of raisins/cranberries/sultanas
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 10 fl oz of semi skimmed milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

HOW TO MAKE THE BREAD & BUTTER PUDDING…

20130402-211340.jpgTake a oven proof dish and your 2 hot cross buns and break the hot cross buns up, into lots of smaller pieces (about 1cm to 2cm), you don’t want this pudding to be neat and even.  The more rustic the better.

20130402-211257.jpg

To the broken up hot cross buns add your dried fruits.  Make sure this is scattered well and poked in all the little holes!

20130402-211247.jpg

Finally you can make the custard.  So, in a bowl place the 2 egg yolks (only, no egg white) and then your sugar and vanilla – mix these together well.  Place the milk in a pan and heat gently until it comes to the boil.  Once the milk has boiled, pour this into the bowl with the egg, sugar and vanilla and whisk constantly.  Once the mixture has combined pour this back into the pan and heat gently.  Stir constantly and after 5 – 6 minutes you will have custard!

Pour the custard over the broken up, hot cross bun and the raisins and then bake this in the oven on 180 degrees / gas mark 5 for 30 minutes – or until golden in colour.

You can eat this straight away – whilst it’s hot.  But you really should share it with at least one other person!

8 Responses to “WASTE not, WANT not… Lets make magic with our HOT CROSS BUNS!”

  1. frugalfeeding April 3, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Fantastic idea, very frugal! I’ve been meaning to do a bread and butter pudding for a while and I do have hot cross buns somewhere… might have to do this 😀

    • gemsfoodgems April 3, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      I am stealing your ‘frugal-ness’!! Maybe I was secretly inspired by you!!

  2. The Peckish Kiwi April 3, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Enjoy a good bread and butter pudding, sadly Mrs P does not.

  3. thisisisrachel April 21, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    This looks delicious! I will definitely be making this very soon, providing I can still find hot cross buns in the supermarket!

  4. gemsfoodgems April 9, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Thank you very much Nick! Glad I inspired you and that you managed to make the final dish look just slightly (cough cough – it was stunning) prettier that I did! Mine was a little bit of a rushed job! x

  5. frugalfeeding April 10, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Thank you, Gemma! I was so pleased with the way it rose – it basically doubled in size 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hot Cross Bread and Butter Pudding | frugal feeding - April 8, 2013

    […] inspiration for this recipe came from Gemsfoodgems – […]

Leave a Reply

