I give you an Onion… HAPPY VALENTINES.

14 Feb

20130214-085853.jpg

Valentine by Carol Ann Duffy

Not a red rose or a satin heart.
I give you an onion.
It is a moon wrapped in brown paper.
It promises light like the careful undressing of love.
Here.
It will blind you with tears like a lover.
It will make your reflection a wobbling photo of grief.
I am trying to be truthful.
Not a cute card or a kissogram.
I give you an onion.20130214-055213.jpg
Its fierce kiss will stay on your lips,
possessive and faithful as we are,
for as long as we are.
Take it.
Its platinum loops shrink to a wedding-ring,
if you like.
Lethal.
Its scent will cling to your fingers, cling to your knife.

A little word from gems:

Not a recipe from me today… well not yet. But instead my favourite ever poem that for me symbolises love and involves food. Myheaven. My friends and family will laugh at me for this, as at school I was totally obsessed with my anthology book and this is a poem that we studied, back in the day. The poem really struck a chord with me then and I cannot wait to find the love of my life and randomly give him an onion… (…as yet I still have the onion, she says as her eyes water a little and she sniffs – but she carries on preparing dinner.)

 

 

 

2 Responses to “I give you an Onion… HAPPY VALENTINES.”

  1. Sally Francis February 14, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    You have my heart!! Mother Hen loves you very much – you are my Valentine X

  2. Jesse August 26, 2013 at 2:56 am #

    Thanks for posting this! A friend had shared this with me years ago, but I couldn’t remember who wrote it. I searched “Valentine” and Onion, and your blog was the first link that didn’t look shady. So thanks!

    I don’t normally read food blogs, because it makes me hungry, but I read a few of yours and they are very well written. You have a love for the subject and make the posts fun and interesting other than just the ingredients and directions.

    Hope you get to give (or get) that onion someday!

Leave a Reply

